What Size Bag

Do wheels and handles count in bag size?

Yes, 11 of 12 airlines here count the wheels and handles in a carry-on’s size, so measure the bag from the floor to the top of the handle, wheels included. Avelo doesn’t say, so measure with them anyway.

By airline

Do wheels and handles count? Each airline’s own pages, as of October 2026
AirlineCarry-onChecked bagPersonal item
American AirlinesYesNot statedNot stated
Delta Air LinesYesNot statedNot stated
United AirlinesYesYesNot stated
Southwest AirlinesYesYesNot stated
Alaska AirlinesYesNot statedNot stated
JetBlueYesYesNot stated
Frontier AirlinesYesYesYes
Allegiant AirYesNot statedYes
Hawaiian AirlinesYesNot statedNot stated
Sun Country AirlinesYesYesNot stated
Breeze AirwaysYesNot statedNot stated
Avelo AirlinesNot statedYesNot stated

Not stated: the airline’s page for that bag doesn’t say. The safe reading is to include them.

Some go further. Frontier includes straps, Allegiant includes pockets and decorations, and Southwest counts any attachments.

How much wheels add

Travelpro Maxlite 5, the case alone and overall, as Travelpro lists them
SuitcaseCase aloneWith wheels and handlesAdded to the height
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Compact Carry-On Spinner19.5 x 13.75 x 9 in22 x 14 x 9 in2.5 in
Travelpro Maxlite 5 International Carry-On Spinner19 x 15 x 7.75 in21.75 x 15.75 x 7.75 in2.75 in
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Carry-On Rollaboard (22 inch)21 x 14 x 9 in23 x 14.5 x 9 in2 in
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Medium Check-In Spinner (25 inch)25 x 18 x 11 in27 x 18.5 x 11.5 in2 in
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Medium Check-In Rollaboard (26 inch)26 x 18.5 x 11 in28 x 19 x 11 in2 in
Travelpro Maxlite 5 Large Check-In Spinner (29 inch)29 x 20.5 x 12.5 in31 x 21 x 13 in2 in

Travelpro’s 22 inch Rollaboard is a 21 inch case and 23 inches tall overall. Monos and Away print one outside size for each suitcase, wheels and handles included. Samsonite UK’s product pages don’t say whether theirs include them.

How to measure

  1. Stand the bag on its wheels with the handle pushed all the way down.
  2. Measure from the floor to the top of the highest handle.
  3. Measure the width at the widest point, side handles and wheel housings included.
  4. Measure front to back with the bag packed, pockets and straps included.
  5. Type the three into Will my bag fit? to see each airline’s answer.
A small wheeled carry-on standing on its wheels with the handle pushed down, with three measuring lines: from the floor to the top of the handle, across the front at the widest point including the wheels, and from the back to the front of the packed front pocket.
Height runs from the floor to the top of the handle, pushed down. Width and depth take in the wheel housings, side handles and a packed front pocket.

Common questions

Do wheels count for checked bags?

Yes on United, Southwest, JetBlue, Frontier, Sun Country and Avelo, which include wheels and handles in the 62 linear inch checked bag size. The other airlines here don't say either way.

Does the telescoping handle count when it's down?

Yes, a handle pushed all the way down still sits at the top of the bag, and 11 of 12 airlines here count the handles in a carry-on's size. Measure to the top of it.

Available on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate, What Size Bag earns from qualifying purchases.

Where we get our information from

Airline limits come from each airline’s own baggage pages, read in October 2026. Suitcase sizes come from Travelpro’s, Monos’ and Away’s own product pages. Checked against published data from Travelpro, Southwest Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines and Avelo Airlines (plus 10 more).

See all 37 sources
  • American Airlines, Carry-on bags (aa.com)
  • American Airlines, Checked bag policy (aa.com)
  • American Airlines, Oversize and overweight bags (aa.com)
  • Delta Air Lines, Carry-On Baggage (delta.com)
  • Delta Air Lines, Baggage Policy and Fees (delta.com)
  • Delta Air Lines, Excess & Overweight Baggage Policy (delta.com)
  • United Airlines, Carry-on bags (united.com)
  • United Airlines, Checked bags (united.com)
  • Southwest Airlines, Carryon and Personal Item Policy (support.southwest.com)
  • Southwest Airlines, Checked Bag Policy (support.southwest.com)
  • Southwest Airlines, Optional Travel Charges (southwest.com)
  • Alaska Airlines, Carry-on luggage size limit (alaskaair.com)
  • Alaska Airlines, Checked baggage fees and policies (alaskaair.com)
  • JetBlue, Carry-On Bags (jetblue.com)
  • JetBlue, Checked Bags (jetblue.com)
  • Frontier Airlines, Bag Options (flyfrontier.com)
  • Frontier Airlines, What are the sizes and weight limits for bags? (faq.flyfrontier.com)
  • Allegiant Air, Carry-On and Checked Baggage Policy, Size and Fees (allegiantair.com)
  • Sun Country Airlines, Bags and Optional Services (suncountry.com)
  • Sun Country Airlines, Contract of Carriage, updated January 1, 2026
  • Breeze Airways, Bag Allowance and Dimensions (flybreeze.com)
  • Southwest Airlines, Contract of Carriage, effective September 24, 2026
  • Hawaiian Airlines, Carry-on luggage size limit (hawaiianairlines.com)
  • Hawaiian Airlines, Checked baggage fees and policies (hawaiianairlines.com)
  • Allegiant Air, Optional Services Fees (allegiantair.com)
  • Breeze Airways, Bag Pricing (flybreeze.com)
  • Avelo Airlines, Carry-on bags (aveloair.com)
  • Avelo Airlines, Checked Bags (aveloair.com)
  • Avelo Airlines, Optional services (aveloair.com)
  • Monos, Carry-On (monos.com)
  • Away, The Carry-On (awaytravel.com)
  • Travelpro, Maxlite 5 Compact Carry-On Spinner (travelpro.com)
  • Travelpro, Maxlite 5 International Carry-On Spinner (travelpro.com)
  • Travelpro, Maxlite 5 Carry-On Rollaboard (22 inch) (travelpro.com)
  • Travelpro, Maxlite 5 Medium Check-In Spinner (25 inch) (travelpro.com)
  • Travelpro, Maxlite 5 Medium Check-In Rollaboard (26 inch) (travelpro.com)
  • Travelpro, Maxlite 5 Large Check-In Spinner (29 inch) (travelpro.com)

General guidance from airline, TSA and FAA rules, checked on the date shown. Rules change, and the airline and security officers decide on the day: check your airline before you fly.